Introduction to the Four Pillars

Beginners Guide

The help understand and plan their career progression the NHS has devised a system of four pillars.

The idea being that individuals can evaluate their skills based of four key areas.

Good practice would be to develop all four areas evenly to be a well rounded professional.

The framework is organised around four pillars of practice:

  1. Clinical Practice
  2. Education
  3. Leadership
  4. Evidence, Research and Development

The emphasis on each pillar at a particular level of the framework will vary according to specific roles e.g. for band 5 or equivalent, the clinical pillar may be most important whereas at band 8 or equivalent, the leadership pillar may predominate.

Source: Health Education England